© Copyright 2011  Julianne Dodds Speedboat and hydroplane Championships 1921 - 1925 Hydroplanes in Australia Early attempts were made to construct hydroplanes in Sydney, but the first really successful motor boat of the type seen here was the Kangaroo, imported by Mr. Anthony Hordern from France about the year 1909. In 1910 Ernest Charles Griffith, Honorary secretary of the Motor Yacht Club of New South Wales, donated ‘The Griffith Australian Championship Cup’ to encourage the sport of Motor Boat racing in Australian waters.  The Cup was to be preserved as a ‘perpetual challenge trophy for friendly motor boat, motor yacht, or sailing yacht clubs of the States of the Commonwealth of Australia and Dominion of New Zealand’. The race was run up until 1916 then lapsed due to the First World War. Racing the large motor boats called hydroplanes had grown so immensely in popularity that after 1920 there were more motor than sailing craft on the yacht register. In 1916 the South Australian hydroplane Tortoise had won the Cup, therefore the next race would, by default, be run in that State. In post-war 1921, outdoor sports events provided an affordable entertainment. Aside from horse racing, tennis, boxing, cycling and rugby league, water sports were popular – sailing, yacht, rowing and motor boat clubs had been formed and public events were held regularly on a Saturday afternoon. Speed boat and hydroplane racing were the hobbies of ‘a rich man’, so keen, adventurous men of the time needed secure financial means to pursue the fastest sport on water. The Griffith Australasian Championship Cup